Hi world,

As usual, it’s late at night and I am cramming to get homework done. Tomorrow is my final final exam here in Spain.

Tomorrow is also my last full day in Seville.

Where did the time go?! I have a lot of mixed feelings about going home. On one hand, I’ve been counting down the days until I can see my family and dog again, or go to a restaurant and get all the drink refills that I want.

On the other hand, I’ve just spent three and a half months living in a beautiful place and seeing things that some people spend years dreaming about. And I’m just starting to feel really comfortable here-isn’t it sad that it took me three months? But I feel like I’ve just gotten the hang of the language, to the point where I can actually have fun talking to people, and now I have to leave.

I’m worried to go back home and experience reverse culture shock. I’ve heard people talk about it and I’ve read about it a little online: I don’t want my home, the place I’ve been dreaming about returning to for the last 103 days, to appear ugly or boring when I finally get there. (Here’s to hoping I’m too busy watching NCIS on the couch with my dog to notice anything I don’t like.)

I’m sad because I have people in Seville that I really care about: I’m going to miss Miguel and Pilar a lot. As much as I like to think about traveling more, the truth is, I’m probably never going to logistically or financially figure out a way to come back here again. It’s a little hard to wrap my head around it, because Seville has started to feel like home.

5 Comments

  1. Hi Sam
    Im travelling to Seville for Study Abroad in two weeks and will be there all of July to mid Aug. I understand that it will be SUPER hot but after a lot of reading I feel a bit worried about wearing shorts. What is your opinion on shorts and tank tops. ( how will locals take it?) Also, did you have any encounters with theft?

    • Hi Yalini!
      If I were you, I would wear the shorts. I was only there until May and it was already very hot, and to get the most out of your experience you should be comfortable. That being said, I’m not 100% sure Spaniards wear shorts like we do. When I was over there, we came to the conclusion towards the end of our program that the Spaniards could already tell that we were American, so we might as well be comfortable in our shorts. You’ll see better what people are wearing when you get over there and you can do a little bit of shopping if you want (did you know they have two H&Ms? One is in the mall and one is on Calle Sierpes). I wouldn’t wear tank tops with spaghetti straps-maybe look for a wider shoulder strap. I can say with a bit more certainty that Spaniards probably won’t be wearing spaghetti straps, and more traditional people might think it is disrespectful.
      Another thing to tthrow in is that Spanish women wear a lot of dresses and skirts, so that os something to consider as well.
      Seville is very very safe. I never had any issues with theft. However, one of the girls in my program was walking one day and a woman stuck her hand in her purse (but didn’t take anything yet) and one of my other friend’s speaking partner (a Spaniard) had her phone stolen out of her purse in the crowds during Semana Santa. It’s the same old line over and over again: just be aware of your surroundings and you will be fine.
      Good luck with your program and let me know if you have any further questions!

  2. Sam you are awesome! Thank you for the fast reply. It makes it so reassuring hearing advice directly from someone who has travelled and lived there for some time. I took your advice and repacked accordingly. I am so surprised at how conservative they are!! I would have never guessed!

    Im sorry but I have a few more questions if you don’t mind.
    I no ZERO spanish, will I be okay? I would love to pick up some phrases and be able to communicate by the end but how do you imagine the transition to be?

    I am planning on cooking at home and eating out not as often. I rather spend money on entrance fees to the countless monuments. I would love to experience food as well but would prefer not eating out as much. Are markets and grocery store prices fair?

    How did you charge your camera and phone? Anything that does not have dual voltage system? Did you take a converter with you?

    Also, we are taking a trip to the beach, are bikinis out of the question?
    Thanks Sam!

    • You are so welcome!
      Not knowing Spanish is fine, you will for sure pick things up. A lot of people know a little English (it’s required in many schools), so in restaurants and stores you should be able to communicate. Seville is a really big tourist spot because of the cathedral and Semana Santa, so it is common for people to visit who don’t know Spanish. You might want to pick up a phrase book or something similar to help learn different words and stuff faster.
      I don’t have a lot of experience with grocery shopping because I lived with a host family who prepared all my meals for me. There are grocery stores throughout the city, but I predict that prices will be a bit higher than we are used to because it feels like Seville has a very high cost of living.
      I brought a converter to charge all my electronics–just check on the box in the store and it tells you which countries it works for.
      Bikinis are absolutely fine at the beach! In fact, you will see that a lot of women go topless. (Isn’t that weird with how conservative they are with other things?!)

Leave a comment